Emotional skills are practical... REAL Skills

See the book

Yes, the most common and difficult problems we face in life are emotional.

Do you want to create? Is the challenge REALLY putting paint to canvas or fingers to keyboard (musical or computer)?

I was a writer at 4! I started with a manual typewriter. It took me a few hours… that’s it… to figure out where the letters were and how hard to strike them to get a clean image on the paper.

Once upon a time there was a man named Noah,
and he had a lot of poop to deal with on his boat.

I get on a call with over 300 people and when someone says “I don’t feel like I’m enough!” the number of heads the nod and eyes that water tells me, bluntly, we have as a community emotional blocks to being co-creative.

It’s NOT that we cannot bring something to life.
It’s that we’re afraid to share.
We’re afraid of the energy we’ll get back…

Why are we afraid of the energy we’ll get back when we share our creations?

My theory is that our existing social and emotional learning inhales violently. (It sucks.)

Tell a child, “Hey, I love your enthusiasm but not right in my face and not so loud for me right now.”

What do they do with that? Shut down? Get angry?

I used to shut down. Developing emotional skills let me feel – deep in my core – that enthusiasm isn’t always a good fit for everyone all the time. It isn’t always and all ways consensual. AND THAT’S OKAY!

C’mon, Let’s Go create spaces where our particular enthusiasm is a perfect fit! Let’s practice, together, the emotional skills that allow for Resilient Creativity.

I am raising my kids to be Co-Creatives, resilient and emotionally free while also being considerate, understanding We-Spaces, and all that kind of good stuff for a thriving life.